Latest News

Late at the Tate

As part of Warp’s Late at Tate event on the 6th December 2013 the Fairey Band performed some of their uniquely styled acid house numbers to hundreds at the Tate Britain art gallery. The band were the featured artist at the evening of performances and installations from Warp Records and artist Jeremy Deller, all inspired by Deller’s work ‘The History of the World’. After the band performed they were met with a rapturous applause and demands for more! Here are a few photos from the event:

Additionally see two videos of the event below:


Back in the frame at The Open!

The Band had another late drew this year, 15th, to go with 16th and 17th in the previous two Opens! Under Musical Director Garry Cutt’s direction the Band delivered an exciting and very musical rendition of Stephen Roberts’ ‘Arabian Nights’, which was a test piece take on Rimsky Korsakov’s Scheherazade. The adjudicators placed us a creditable 5th out of the 17 competitors. The performance can be heard via the jukebox on our home page. Full results were as follows:

1. Tredegar (Ian Porthouse), 8
2. Cory (Philip Harper), 16
3. Co-operative Funeralcare (Allan Ramsay), 14
4. Foden’s (Allan Withington), 13
5. Fairey (Garry Cutt), 15
6. Black Dyke (Dr Nicholas Childs), 4
7. Kirkintilloch (David Roberts), 10
8. Carlton Main Frickley Colliery (Phillip McCann), 9
9. Brighouse & Rastrick (Prof. David King), 5
10. Grimethorpe Colliery (Luc Vertommen), 2
11. Desford Colliery (Nigel Seaman), 17
12. Hepworth (Michael Fowles), 3
13. Milnrow (Mareika Gray), 7
14. Virtuosi GUS (John Berryman), 11
15. Leyland (Michael Bach), 6
16. Reg Vardy (Russell Gray), 12*
17. Seindorf Beaumaris (Gwyn M Evans), 1*

Congratulations to Ian Porthouse and Tredegar on their 2nd win at the contest in the last four years.

Fairey back on the musical acid tablets

The Fairey Band will be donning their yellow smiley faces once again with the news that they are to perform their celebrated Acid Brass music at the reopening of the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park. The event sees the band team up once again, almost 16 years after the first Acid Brass gig, with Turner Prize winning artist Jeremy Deller. Jeremy in turn has accepted the band’s invitation to become its first Honorary Vice-President.

The duo first came together for an ‘Acid Brass’ project in 1997, where the band performed tracks at the Barbican in London, the Edinburgh Fringe and the opening of Tate Modern, as well as at numerous overseas venues including Vienna and Paris. The popularity of the music has not waned in the intervening years, with the music used recently by the BBC to back its coverage of Royal Ascot, the Chelsea Flower Show and Olympic Games.

Next week the band will take part in the reopening of the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park in London in an event organised by the London Legacy Development Corporation, the Barbican and Create London. Fairey will perform a number of popular Acid Brass tracks, whilst another Jeremy Deller project will also feature – a life size inflatable replica of Stonehenge.

Band Manager Nigel Beasley stated: “We are delighted to team up once again with such a high profile artist as Jeremy—and even more delighted that he has agreed to become our first honorary vice president. It’s testament to the popularity of Acid House music that it is still plays such a firm part in the musical consciousness of the nation—from Royal Ascot and the Olympics—and all played by a brass band too.” (c)

Whit Friday Runners Up

Last night the Band competed at the annual Whit Friday march competitions in the Saddleworth area. We played ‘The President’ march in 8 contests; scoring one 1st, five 2nd and one 5th place. Unofficially (as yet) we have finished as Saddleworth area runners up, behind Brighouse & Rastrick. The Band got off to an early 4pm start and hence managed to compete in all but three of the Saddleworth contests, racking up just shy of £4,300 in total prize money for the evening!

Thanks go to MD Garry Cutt for working us hard this week and directing us so assuredly on the night, and to guest players Dave Morton (cornet), Ceri John (euphonium), Ben Knowles (trombone) and Andy Cattenach (BBb bass). Congratulations to Ben Richeton (soprano) and Ceri John (euphonium) for the solo prizes they gained around the events.

Ray Peacock Memorial


One of the great stalwart players of the Fairey Band will be remembered in May when it is hoped people will come together to pay their tributes to Ray Peacock at a special memorial concert.


Ray’s son Mark, told 4BR: “When the funeral took place at Tyldesley Parish Church in May 2012 over 400 people came to pay their respects to a dedicated brass bandsman, and hear Fairey Band pay their respects to a long-serving former member. It was such an emotional experience that the idea was suggested to organise a tribute charity concert to raise funds for Parkinson’s UK.”


Mark added: “Dad (above) was a proud member of the Fairey Band for some 30 years and he shared in their many contest successes. He was a dedicated and loyal bandsman, travelling for over 30 years from Tyldesley to Stockport to work at Fairey Aviation and play for the band.” Mark explained that his father was eventually diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease and ever since the Peacock family has raised money to support the research into the condition.

Parkinson’s Disease

He added: “It was felt by our family and friends that by bringing the Fairey Band back to Tyldesley and helping raise much needed funds for Parkinson’s UK, we could celebrate Dad’s life with music and memories.” Mark is looking forward to conducting the concert in his home town of Tyldesley and hopes all the local community will come together to support the special event. “There will be a rich and varied programme which will appeal to all musical tastes,” he said.

Raise funds

“Tyldesley and the surrounding areas have a strong tradition of brass band music and I know the audience will enjoy the programme of music chosen, and help raise money for Parkinson’s UK too.” Tickets for the event at Tyldesley Parish Church on Saturday May 18th can be bought on the door: adults – £10, children –free or can be reserved on 07944 109430.


See all the bands future events


Listen and Watch!

See the band in action via our collection of videos and photo galleries


Meet the Band

Biographies of all band personal can be found