Quintessence: The Music of Robert Redhead

The band are proud to announce the release of their latest CD Quintessence. The CD features the music of Robert Redhead under the direction of John Ward and Robert himself, also featuring guest Tenor Horn soloist Owen Farr. Available now via the band’s shop. See below for full track listing.


Forward by Clarence Adoo

Picture courtesy of Northumbria UniversityThis recording is devoted to the music of Robert Redhead, arguably one of the most important figures in the history of Salvation Army music making. Whether you are just discovering Robert’s works or this is familiar repertoire to you, I do hope you enjoy this recording, brought to you by the talented players of the Fairey Band under the direction of John Ward, and Robert directing a very special performance of I Will Follow Thee.

A new work here is Tenore: Theme and Variations. I would like to thank Robert Redhead for composing this for Owen Farr to perform on this recording. The intention is that this fine new work will enjoy performances beyond this recording, and Robert and Owen are working together to produce a version for wider use.

Proceeds from the sale of this recording go to the Clarence Adoo Trust and my sincere thanks go to everybody who has worked so hard to produce this very special recording.

Dr. Clarence Adoo MBE

For more information see www.clarence.org.

Track Listing

  1. A Fanfare of Praise
  2. Isaiah 40
  3. I Will Follow Thee*
  4. Tenore: Theme and Variations (Owen Farr, Tenor Horn)
  5. Picton Citadel
  6. Quintessence
  7. How Charming is Thy Name
  8. Corpus Christi

All music recorded in the presence of the composer, * indicating where he directed the band.

Posted in CD.