CD Release | “Nefarious”

The Band are proud to announce the release of their latest CD recording, “Nefarious”. It is available now via digital download or alternatively please use our contact page and we can send you a physical copy with the artwork included. Conducted by Garry Cutt and Tom Davoren this release is a great mix of great brass band classics and new repertoire, some of which first premiered at the 2014 Brass in Concert Championships. Full details each item can be found below:

Promo Video


Peter Graham is one of the most prolific composers in the world of brass and wind bands. Phoenix is taken from his suite War of the Worlds, inspired by the epic science fiction story penned by H. G. Wells. Rich in sweeping melodic line and driving rhythm it evokes images of mankind’s triumphant fight back from desolation and ruin, rising from ashes like the mythical bird of the same name.

1_coverPresented in a sumptuous arrangement by Goff Richards, I’ll Walk With God is an original song by Nicholas Brodszky. Taken from the 1954 film, The Student Prince, the onscreen version of the song was portrayed by actor Edmund Purdom, however, it was the overdubbed voice of Mario Lanza that would eventually send Brodszky’s heart wrenching music across the world.

Jim Fieldhouse, Solo Euphonium player with Fairey Band, leads a musical double life as a session saxophone player in the United Kingdom. This original piece was composed for the band’s appearance at the 2014 Brass in Concert Championship. As the name, Nefarious, and Jim’s saxophone background suggests it is music with a dark and addictive groove.

Composer Rodney Newton has a long-standing relationship with Fairey Band, being the arranger behind Jeremy Deller’s initial Acid Brass project. Here the band’s celebrated Principal Cornet, Paul Hughes, offers a sublimely lyrical rendition of the composer’s Dimitri, which is based on music he wrote for a silent film in the late 1990’s.

The name George Allan is synonymous with marches originating from British military music. Those in brass band circles, particularly those who frequent the Whit Friday celebrations, may well be most familiar with his Knight Templar; a contest march which is famed for its majestic bass solo and delicate changes of style.

With a list of film credits that include Academy Award and Golden Globe Award winning scores, the music of James Horner is perhaps some of the most instantly recognisable to the ear today. His score to the film Braveheart was nominated for an Academy Award in 1995, the main love theme from which, For the Love of a Princess, has been subtly adapted for brass band by Andrew Duncan.

Earth Rise was written for the Euphony Quartet, a euphonium quartet made up of Ben Wright, Frances Wilson, Stephen Kane and the composer, James McLeod. Currently the Principal Euphonium of Leyland Band and a Besson Euphonium Artist, James composed this impressive concert opener for a quartet recital in 2011, whilst studying at the Royal Welsh College of Music where the Euphony Quartet was formed. Earth Rise was given its title by David Childs, Euphonium Professor at the college. The work was featured in Euphony’s programme at the RNCM Festival of Brass in 2012 and was also part of their winning performance in the Small Ensemble competition final at the 2012 International Tuba and Euphonium Conference in Linz, Austria. It has now been performed all over Europe and in America. After hearing Euphony quartet play Earth Rise Fairey Band’s Principal Euphonium felt it would be an interesting project to multi-track all four parts for this disc.

The band is most proud to have an award winning bass trombonist in its ranks. 2014 was a spectacular year for Josh Cirtina, being the first British student to win the George Roberts Bass Trombone Competition in Rochester, New York and winning the British Trombone Society ‘Bob Hughes’ National Bass Trombone Competition. Here the band gives Josh some rare time ‘off the leash’, in a typically suave Bill Geldard version of Grieg’s In the Hall of the Mountain King.

Drawn from the text of an old Irish benediction, The Irish Blessing has been set to music by a number of composers the world over. This version by American composer Joyce Eilers Bacak is perhaps the most famous in brass band circles, arranged by bass trombonist Steve Bradnum.

Thanks to a selection of leading personalities in the brass band movement the tenor horn is enjoying a period in the spotlight the likes of which it has never seen before; including exciting new repertoire, innovated methods of teaching and technical instrumental developments. Solo Horn of Fairey Band, Paul Bennett, formerly of Desford Colliery and Britannia Building Bands is one of these personalities. Here he presents a brand new arrangement, by friend Mark Allen, of Baroque composer Johann Quantz’s fiendish flute concerto, the chosen excerpt being simply named Baroque Concerto for Horn by the arranger.

Having composed in a variety of genres including brass band, chamber music and musical theatre, Ben Tubb is one of the most versatile young composers to emerge from the band movement. His Danse Macabre Variations is a unique take on Camille Saint-Saëns demonic original, brimming with power, excitement and virtuosity.

Okavango by Damien Harron is a powerful fanfare for four African djembes. It features lots of strong rhythms and displays layers of polyphony between the quartet and was written during the recording of BackBeat Percussion Quartet’s first CD. Having decided that they needed a short, powerful drum piece to open the CD, Damien rushed home and wrote the piece based on some riffs that had been knocking around in his head for a while. It turned out to be a great fanfare and has opened all of BackBeat’s concerts for the past few years.

Mark Preece is the tuba player with the Regina Orchestra, a provincial symphony orchestra in Saskatchewan, Canada. Here he combines his experience in classical music with his brass band heritage in an arrangement of an organ work by Richard Strauss, Solemn Entrance of the Knights of St John. A grandiose processional composed in 1909, the music is inspired by the Knights and Order of St John, one of the most famous Western Christian military orders during the middle ages.

The Land of Make Believe was the eighth studio album by jazz / pop crossover artist Chuck Mangione. Composed in 1978, the song originally featured vocalist Esther Satterfield and the songwriter’s younger brother, Gap Mangione, on jazz trumpet. In this brand new version arranged by Jim Fieldhouse their roles are fulfilled by the band’s flugel horn soloists, Mike Eccles and John Lees, and Vicky Lundberg on french horn.

Programme Notes – Tom Davoren

Full Track Listing

  1. Phoenix Peter Graham
  2. I’ll Walk With God Brodszky arr. Goff Richards
  3. Nefarious Jim Fieldhouse
  4. Dimitri Rodney Newton
    Cornet Soloist: Paul Hughes
  5. Knight Templar George Allan
  6. For the Love of a Princess James Horner arr. Andrew Duncan
  7. Earth Rise James McLeod
    Euphonium Soloist: Jim Fieldhouse
  8. In the Hall of the Mountain King Grieg arr. Bill Geldard
    Bass Trombone Soloist: Josh Cirtina
  9. The Irish Blessing Bacak arr. Stephen Bradnum
  10. Baroque Concerto for Horn Quantz arr. Mark Allen
    Tenor Horn Soloist: Paul Bennett
  11. Okavango Damien Harron
    Percussion Feature:  Graham Proctor, Dave Wycherley, Brian Chan
  12. Danse Macabre Variations Benjamin Tubb
  13. Solemn Entry of the Knights of St John Richard Strauss arr. Mark Preece
  14. Land of Make Believe Chuck Mangione arr. Jim Fieldhouse
Posted in CD.